State Driving Law Logo

Illinois Driving Law

Information on Illinois driving law and Illinois traffic laws...

License Revocation, Suspension, Cancellation and Denial

Under Illinois driving law, driving privileges can be temporarily withdrawn (suspended) for a specified time period, permanently terminated (revoked) or cancelled.

In addition, for certain causes, the privilege to apply for a driver's license or instruction permit can be denied to an individual under the age of 18 for either a six-month period or until his or her 18th birthday.

Revocation

"Revocation" means that your driving privileges have been taken away indefinitely by the Secretary of State's office. To regain your driving privileges, you may be eligible to reapply for your license after a minimum of one year, unless otherwise noted.

Revocation of your license is a very serious matter. Your driver's license will be revoked if you are convicted of the following offenses of Illinois driving law:

In accordance with Illinois driving law, the Secretary of State's office has the authority to revoke the driver's license of a repeat traffic offender. During the course of any revocation, your vehicle registration may be suspended. Notice is given accordingly.

Suspension

"Suspension" means that you have temporarily lost your driving privileges. When the suspension is for a specific length of time, you may regain your driving privileges after your suspension has ended. In other cases, your driver's license will not be returned until you meet a requirement of Illinois traffic laws.

Your driver's license will be suspended if you are convicted of three violations of Illinois driving law committed within any 12 months.

If you are under 21 years old at the time of arrest, two violations of Illinois traffic laws within any 24-month period will result in a suspension.

If you are under age 18, you will be required to successfully complete a driver remedial education course to make your driving privileges valid again.

In addition, you may be required to submit to a complete driver's license examination to be re-issued a driver's license. The length of the suspension will vary according to the seriousness of the Illinois driving law offenses.

If your driver's license is suspended for conviction of three traffic violations of Illinois driving law within a 12-month period, you may be eligible for a probationary license or occupational driving permit.

If you receive a suspension for conviction of two traffic violations of Illinois driving law in a 24-month period while under the age of 21, you may be eligible to receive a restricted driving permit. The Secretary of State's office will notify you if you are eligible.

In accordance with Illinois driving law, your driver's license may also be suspended under the following conditions:

Cancellation

"Cancellation" means the annulment or termination by formal action of the Secretary of a person's driver's license or permit because of some error or defect in the license or because the licensee is no longer entitled to such license.

Reapplication for a driver's license can be made only after the terms of the cancellation have been met. Under Illinois driving law, your driver's license may be cancelled for the following reason(s):

Denial

"Denial" means that you are temporarily denied the privilege of applying for a driver's license and, in certain instances, an instruction permit.

Under Illinois driving law, a denial can only be entered to the driving record of an individual under the age of 18 for conviction of one of the following offenses:

  1. A conviction for violation of any Illinois traffic laws that results in a mandatory revocation of driving privileges. A denial for this type of offense precludes application for either a driver's license or an instruction permit until the person's 18th birthday.
  2. A conviction for driving without a valid driver's license or permit (no valid license). Such a denial forbids application for a driver's license until the person's 18th birthday, while application for an instruction permit is still allowed. If the person already has a driver's license, then the driving privilege granted by that license is reduced to being the privilege granted by an instruction permit.
  3. A conviction for a serious moving violation of Illinois traffic laws. The length of this type of denial is either six months or until the person's 18th birthday, whichever is shorter. This denial only forbids application for a driver's license. Instruction permit applications are still allowed. If the person already has a driver's license, then the driving privilege granted by that license is reduced to being the privilege granted by an instruction permit.

Serious moving violations are:

For More Information

Click here to learn more about Illinois driving law and Illinois traffic laws.

Updates:

Effective January 1, 2011, the Illinois law regarding the use of child restraint systems changed. The new Illinois child seat belt law contains some age changes and an addition pertaining to a child's weight.

New Changes to Illinois Teen Driving Laws for 2011 - Effective January 1, 2011, the GDL law will change to reflect new passenger limitations for beginning teen drivers.

Driving Related Articles

What You Should Know About Buying a New Car - Part I What You Should Know About Buying a New Car - Part II
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part I What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part II
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part III What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part IV
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part V What You Should Know About Auto Insurance - Part I
What You Should Know About Auto Insurance - Part II What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part I
What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part II What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part III
What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part IV Know Your Insurance Accident Process